our personalities are predetemined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing can be done to alter our character traits to what extend do you agree ?

Few people claim that our characteristic traits are solely dependent on genetics. I strongly disagree with this sentiment and assert that there are numerous factors that build our personality, such as our environment and willingness to change.

It is understandable to believe that few of our actions are inherited through our bloodline. Some things are uncontrollable and the circumstances we are currently in is indeed dependent on our fate, making individuals believe that our lives have been predestined beforehand. There have been countless examples where a child has taken attributes from their parents due to having the same genes, whether positive or negative. For instance, a toddler raised by an abusive parent could possibly grow up to be violent and aggressive due to inheritance.

Having said that, this doesn’t account for the fact that our personality changes over time. Regardless of who you are, we are fostered in the environment we choose to be in and are shaped through our experiences and surroundings. For instance, with proper guidance, someone who could hardly hold a conversation with a stranger can eventually become bubbly when surrounded with extroverted people. Additionally, we cannot ignore that willingness to change significantly helps in altering our traits and making ourselves a better person. We can take another example of prisoners, who are now living a peaceful and prosperous life through rehabilitation and professional help.

To conclude, while it is important to acknowledge the role of genetics in our personality, it mostly comes down to our surroundings and our commitment to improving ourselves.