Some people think that computer games are good for children's development. Others think it is bad. discuss both views and give your opinion

Playing computer games is always fun for children, It has both, positive as well as negative effects on children. In this essay, I will discuss its both effects. Playing games on computer has very fruitful implications on development of the child, but only if playing time is moderate.

There are many advantages of computer games. The biggest one is children can learn through games while being so relaxed. In this contemporary era, many games are built for children to play and learn which helps in development of children and their cognitive ability. For instance, ABCya and Funbrain games are designed for children from pre-KG to elemntary school. In these games, one can select the topic and type of the game like math, reading and pattern. My own younger sister uses funbrain platform in her leisure time. She plays games on computer as a hobby, but get to learn something in return. Games on computer makes children visualise the whole meaning behind the concepts and give a better understanding of educational contents.

On the other hand, playing games on computer also has awful effects on the development of children. Spending too much time on screen can make their eyesight worse. They can be addicted to games. Some pre-teens see violence in games and mimic it, as a result their behavior change physically. Personally I have seen the children that becomes aggressive while being addicted to games. For instance, one of my cousin’s son is 10 years old and he plays games all the day. He always want to win in games, if he did not get the desired scores he becomes frustrated and will be angry through out the day and break things. My cousin is very concerned about him and she is trying to control his screen time. Therefore, games on computer should be play in moderate time span. Parents should not allow their child to play on computer more than a few hours.

To encapsulate, although there is a common belief that playing on computer has bad effects on children. I personally think that it’s positive effects outweigh the negative effects on children development.