Some people believe that spending money on space exploration is a waste of resources, while others think it is essential for human progress. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

One school of thought maintains that space exploration is a waste of resources; however, other people argue that continuing to explore the universe in search of potential life is essential for mankind. From my perspective, while both viewpoints are valid, I agree more with the former, so resources that are allocated to space exploration should be used in other ways.

On the one hand, exploring the universe can address humanity’s survival in the future. Given that the Earth are facing severe climate issues, such as global warming or rapid climate change that can lead to unexpected natural disasters, namely tsunami or earthquake, it is understandable why experts and scientists inform us about alternative planets in the universe. A good example can be seen in research of Mars, which provides valuable information and data about the volume of oxygen or potential living conditions, allowing people to prepare for living in other planets in the future. Nevertheless, this argument overlooks the fact that such severe climate issues are often caused by human activities rather than nature itself. If people are well aware of devastating consequences stemming from industrial and commercial activities, climate issues can be effectively addressed.

On the other hand, supporters of the former view believe that resources allocated to space exploration is a waste. Since space programmes only provide prediction about living conditions and necessary data serving scientific research after that often takes a long time, they cannot immediately tackle survival problems and show influential benefits. More importantly, exploring the universe often requires enormous governmental fundings, which are used for training and investing in modern, innovative technologies that would otherwise result in unexpected outcomes if they were not carefully prepared. People therefore believe that it is a waste of resources to explore the universe.

Another compelling reason is that there are numerous urgent issues on Earth that worth addressing rather than lauching space programmes. A lack of educational opportunities or degrading traffic infrastructure are important problems that need to be solved to make sure that people have a higher living quality. While exploring the universe often brings benefits in the long run, tackling such problems on Earth can generate far-reaching impacts and the immediate efficiency.

In conclusion although space exploration can bring valuable information about alternative planets, I believe resources allocated to it may be a waste, so it should be used by other ways, namely tackling problems on Earth.