Some people think that the media (newspapers) have the right to publish details of people's private lives, while other think it should be controlled. discuss both views

The advance of technology enabled humans to share their thoughts and personal opinions publicly for a high range of users, nonetheless despite the increased connectivity the concept of personal privacy remains a crucial aspect of morden society. While some believe that the media has the right to publish details of individuals private life, considering is the interest of public awareness, others argue that such exposure should be regulated to protect personal privacy. In my view, it’s highly important to preserve individual privacy and the society should fight for it.

It is considered by some that having their privacy violated for the common good, as preventing crimes to happen, it’s worthwhile. Journalistic investigations exposing personal details of public figures and ordinary citizen as well, have uncovered scandal that would remained hidden without their conduct, reinforcing the idea that transparency benefits society. As the popular says goes, “Those who have nothing to fear have nothing to hide,” implying that only those involved in felonies should be concerned about media exposure.

On the other hand, protecting privacy is key to ensuring human dignity, safety and self-determination. People that have their privacy violated suffer from different types of harm, such as reputational damage and humiliations, even when the media attempt to do “what is good for the society”. For instance, Britney Spears, who was a famous actress, got her entire private life exposed by several paparazzis, as result, she developed depression, drug addiction and almost dropped her own infant, trying to avoid them.

In conclusion, defending the right to have privacy should be the main concern from the general population, regulations should be in place to prevent unjustified intrusions while still allowing the media to inform the public, only with a plausible explanation.