Some people think that the state should pay tertiary fees for students. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Some people believe that the government should introduce free tertiary education for students. This essay will discuss the benefits and the drawbacks of free universities or collages.

There are many benefits towards free tuition in tertiary education like reducing student debts. Students will not have to pay back large amount of student loans. Secondly, the workforce development will improve. With more students graduating universities, businesses will have more qualified personal. It also provides an opportunity to study. This could give unprivileged students the chance to pursue a dream and get a degree. Lastly, the consumer can increase spending. Qualified people can get a bigger income which they will invest in property or have a richer lifestyle by spending more.

In the other hand, the disadvantage of free tertiary education is, students are less accountable. Some students will not take responsibility for their education because it is for free and they will get another opportunity if they fail. Secondly, it can be a taxpayer burden. The government will lift taxes paid by citizens to make up the funding needed to successfully operate the institutions. It can also cause overcrowding at institutions. More people will enter a course then what the collage or university can accommodate. Lastly, degrees can lose its value. Having a degree will not be an advantage in the job market because there would be an overload of people owning one.

In conclusion, this essay discussed the advantages such as lowering student debts and creating study opportunities, however factors like not taking accountability for your education and raising taxes can all be disadvantages when receiving free tertiary education.