Some people think that the urban spaces should be used for parks rather than for housing. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

People have different views about whether parks OR HOUSING should be PRIORITIZED IN URBAN PLANNING. While there are some reasons supporting housing, my own view is that we should favor parks over residential buildings when utilizing urban spaces.

On the one hand, dedicating significant urban areas to parks offers numerous environmental benefits. Out of which, the most crucial roles are improving air quality and providing green spaces for city dwellers. The trees in parks help purify the surrounding air by absorbing carbon dioxide (CO2) from the atmosphere, filtering dust and pollutants. Green spaces encourage outdoor activities and serve as areas where the neighboring dwellers can relieve stress and enhance both their physical and mental health. In the early morning, it is not difficult to see groups of people gathering to practice various types of exercise and sports such as yoga, aerobics, badminton, or go jogging together.

Using urban spaces for housing, on the other hand, plays a pivotal role in human life. Firstly, allocating urban spaces for housing can alleviate the current housing shortage, which leads to overload and high living costs. Therefore, building houses create jobs for people and promote economic development. Secondly, this allows for effectively using limited urban space and maximizes performance. Moreover, expanding housing can lead to infrastructure development, like traffic and services.

In conclusion, while using urban spaces for housing can help address the growing demand for accommodation in cities, parks offer significant benefits for public health, the environment, and overall quality of life but I believe that prioritizing green spaces is crucial for creating a sustainable and livable urban environment.