Some people think that universities should focus on providing graduates with practical skills for the workplace, while others believe that the main function of universities is to give access to theoretical knowledge. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There have always been a debate on what the university’s function should be. I believe it should prioritize on educating students with the skills they will use in work. Students will be more encouraged to learn new information. Moreover, pupils will get a job quicker with few or even no problems.

To begin with, when students are taught the skills that they know will be useful in future, pupils become more interested in learning new information. They read books, watch videos and become more active on lectures, which leads to higher grades and higher acceptance per cent.

In addition, universities should ensure that the skills that they teach are in high demand in a job market. The kind of talent which is in high demand, is often more valuable than other skills. For example, tech companies are now competing for employers which have computer science degrees because they can write code faster, cleaner and more understandable.

In conclusion, education should aim to prepare students for work. If it does not students will not be provided necessary talents and will struggle to get a job.