Some people think that universities should focus on providing graduates with practical skills for the workplace, while others believe that the main function of universities is to give access to theoretical knowledge. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Education plays a vital role in the development of a successful nation. Some people argue that higher education should focus on providing practical skills for work, while others think that universities mainly focus on theoretical education.

I partially agree with this statement; I will discuss both sides and give my opinions. However, practical skills are essential for a successful career, and universities must focus on practical education.

Moreover, if higher education practically teaches students about the subject, then they will definitely be clear about the subject. The student will show his strong skills in the workplace to build a successful career for the future. For example, in the education system of Ireland, they focus on the TPR (total physical response) method to deliver practical knowledge to students. Visible or student-centered research helps students to understand the depth of their interest in the subject.

In contrast, educational institutions mainly focus on theoretical knowledge, which is not very beneficial. A significant number of universities rely on theory just because of a lack of resources and upgrades. For example, Asian countries’ education is theoretical, such as in Pakistan and India; they are giving academic education only, which is not profitable for a student’s career. Theoretical education is good for academic understanding, but in my view, university education should be practical, because it is compulsory for a successful image and innovation. If the student gets practical education, he or she will be more critical and innovative. In conclusion, education plays a crucial role in human life, so it is necessary to teach them practically. Theoretical education is also important if the resources are not enough; however, universities need to focus on practical education for a great and successful nation.