Some people think that universities should focus on providing graduates with practical skills for the workplace, while others believe that the main function of universities is to give access to theoretical knowledge. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many argues on that whether universities should prepare students in both knowledge and skills to build their career or universities are meant to supply knowledge for its own purpose neglecting the fact of the course on their employment. I think the main functions of a university are not only assert students to gain knowledge but also provide the real life experience regarding to their university course. Because knowledge alone is not sufficient, one should know how to apply this knowledge; also mastering in these two parts will assist one to choose the best place they belong.

Universities should not only focus on teaching specific course related bookish contents. Having ideas and strong academic background is not the only feature that helps one to get employed. One should know how to apply the idea as well as where to apply. For instance, many south Asian students who are graduates from CSE suffer in getting employed because they do not have enough technology based skills. Even though they have a renowned degree but lacking practical skill caused them to stay jobless.

On the other hand, holding an academic knowledge along with familiarity on practical uses of the courses will put one few step forward. It helps one to relate what they are learning and teaches them to convert into something that exists. It also help them to achieve the environment they have potential to gain. A research that reinforces the statement is that, two groups of people were selected to learn cycling in two distinct way, one is to read instruction from a book and the other is trained with real cycle. The result was the one who worked with cycle had done it better than that of the manual reader.

So the universities should not focus only courses that will be useful to employers but to teach them courses that will give the students a variety of opportunity.