Some people think that universities should focus on providing graduates with practical skills for the workplace, while others believe that the main function of universities is to give access to theoretical knowledge. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions differ when it comes to the priority should be given whether to academic knowledge or employment skills in universities. Some people, as well as me, think employment skills are essential for students in terms of entering job competitive job market easily, while others believe that academic knowledge helps students to take responsibility and be attentive.

Giving academic knowledge a priority is advantageous. Active learning makes students more responsible not only in academic life but in professional sphere too. It is commonsense that to check the students’ knowledge gain, universities impose mid-term and final-exams. Being aware of the severe consequences of failing from exams such as suspension of studies, juveniles tend to be more attentive to every detail and piece of information. This gained attentiveness, in the long run, will be formed as a hard-skill which considered as vital in any workplace.

Nevertheless, I am of the opinion that gaining practical knowledge is far more beneficial to theoretical. learning. Universities serve as a bridge that connects high-school students with job market. Majority of businesses always look for someone with experience in the field when recruiting new employees. Students who just got their bachelors’ degree without any experience of work struggle to find a job, since they have not applied their knowledge into practice. As a result of having no chance to work, students often get discouraged and give up, which creates increasing unemployment rates and badly influences the state economy.

In conclusion, although the idea of universities prioritise the role of academic knowledge benefits youngsters to be accountable, I think being practically intelligent in the chosen field creates plenty of opportunities in terms of being employed and contribute to economy.