Some people think that universities should focus on providing graduates with practical skills for the workplace, while others believe that the main function of universities is to give access to theoretical knowledge. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is claimed that some people agree that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. I can support this opinion because universities are the shapers of young individuals who do not have any life and work experience yet. However, others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake. This is another true view for university functions, so each opinion includes major reasons about university’s function.

On the one hand, deep knowledge of specific fields is always learnt in universities. If student wants to be an academician, engineer or architect, bachelor’s degree is a must. This degree is also the distribution between qualified and common employees. Qualified employees can manage a tough situation requiring deep knowledge about the field but if there is an issue that needs manpower, generally common employees are preferred. There can be some exceptions but generally, universities offer graduates with desirable information which is useful for employers.

On the other hand, universities can provide amazing guidelines to teenagers graduating from high school. Universities, unlike high schools, include various types of students who have different ideas, choices, daily routines and so on. Freedom of this variation can affect directly students in a positive way, so their identities start to take shape. They begin to search for literature and information which are not familiar to them and wanting to reach more of them. In time, they do not need any specific sources because they know the access to knowledge for its own sake.

To sum up, Universities are vital places which provide endless skills and knowledge but to teach true method of access to knowledge is paramount feature of the college.