Some people think that university students should specialize in one subject, while others think universities should encourage students to learn a range of subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people claim that university students need to specialise in one subject though, others believe universities must require students to take a multitude of different courses. In this essay, I shall discuss both views and give my own perspective.

There are two main reasons why students should take a variety of courses. Firstly, it could make them more well-rounded, as learning many subjects could enhance their frame of mind. Secondly, it creates many job opportunities and most importantly, it makes them more professional in their major career. For instance, a doctor who has studied literature or history may provide more meticulous patient care.

However, I would agree with those who claim the opposite. The main reason for this view is that students who take one subjects do not distract themselves from their major subject. For example, a medical student who has taken English, philosophy and psychology to study can overwhelm himself or herself from such range of subjects, hence burn out and sometimes even give up. Secondly, knowing your major field most can make you a really good professional of your job. There are some people who specialise in several fields after their graduation; it can be dentistry and therapy. Specialising in two fields can make people more professional in one field whilst the other field can fall behind as it would be very hard to balance both.

It can be concluded that although, taking a set of courses can make you better in your major field and well-rounded I personally believe that it would be better to take one subject and become expert in that field.