Some people think that young people should follow the traditions of their society and others think young people should be free to behave as individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While the first group of people think that free will must be given to the younger generations, I support the concept of the second group, arguing to imply the traditions of the predecessors to youngsters’ lives

On the one hand, the first group can be right for some reasons. The primary reason is that individualism (free will) helps to develop society. To explicate, several decades ago, when there was no concept of individualism, various forms of inequalities, harsh parenting, peer pressure, and inability to make their own decisions were widely accepted concepts among people and no one thought about their detrimental effects. These constraints, in turn, did not allow millions of people to enjoy life fullest and form a society. However, after people claimed to have their own will and behave as an individual, these restrictions have been gradually taken down, allowing the youth to take an active position in society. They, today, can make their own decisions that change not only their lives but also their surroundings for the better, contributing to the development of their community.

Having said that, It is worth mentioning the importance of conservatism in our society too. First and foremost, in many cases, traditionalism reflects the core principles of upbringing as respect for other people, protection of loved ones, which are still relevant today. In my opinion, traditions must not be forgotten, instead, they must be adapted to our life forms. It’s been feared by most people that people will eventually forget the values and importance of tradition and that is, unfortunately, slowly coming true as more and more people- particularly the representatives of the so-called “woke” movement-who keep pushing conflicting, hypocritical, and destructive ideologies onto the others. This is because, they completely forgot the main ideological purpose of individualism- protecting ordinary people from being dictated by the society- and surmise that traditions have lost their values.

In conclusion, whereas it is crucial for youngsters to have free will, I, also, thoroughly believe that the following traditions can be profoundly helpful in upbringing them in a beneficial way for our community