Some people think that young people should follow the traditions of their society and others think young people should be free to behave as individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people believe that young people should adopt the traditions of their society, while others argue that it is free for them to choose their own behaviour. I personally think that young people should be welcomed to choose their own lifestyle.

On the one hand, following the available identities may contribute to the conservation of the tradition. In fact, some specific traditions of every society are vanishing nowadays, which would probably disappear if young people continue to ignore them. Keeping those traditions can protect the diversity of each culture. For example, the Vietnamese held many festivals in their temples and pagodas annually. That is our long-lasting special tradition, which conjures in foreigners’ minds when talking about Vietnam.

On the other hand, it is important for individuals to freely choose their own lifestyle. When their lives are exactly like what they have dreamed of, young people tend to dedicate their abilities more, which may help their work become more productive, and then contribute to the development of the society. Moreover, there are some traditions that are quite extreme; for example, some societies still keep the belief that men are more valuable than women, which young people today should never adopt. Each person should be free to enjoy their life due to themself’s wish so that they would not waste their youth and lives.

In conclusion, it is important to follow the traditions to maintain and develop traditional identities. However, young people should feel free to choose their own way of living to improve the society.