Some people think that young people should follow the traditions of their society and others think young people should be free to behave as individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some individuals argue that young people ought to follow traditions of societies they come from . However,others believe they should have the opportunity to behave as individuals.This essay will discuss both perspectives before presenting a clear opinion.

On one hand, adhering to traditions of a society helps in maintaining it’s cultural identity.A society is compacted together through its values and customs passed down over generations, hence protecting it’s cultural identity.For instance,African communities teach young ones the need to respect their elders,this helps promote harmony and respect in a community.On the brighter side ,such values passed down generations ensures it’s social identity is protected .

On the other hand,critics argue that young people should be allowed to behave as they wish .In contemporary society, creativity and independence are important for personal growth.When young people think individually they acquire important skills to navigate the ever growing trends,when young people follow traditional customs blindly they may miss out crucial opportunities.For instance,African societies have branded women as house wives.This limits them from pursuing white collar jobs for the sake of taking care of the family.This may sideline women’s growth.Through creativity,a woman may rise to become an important figure in the community.This can only be propagated through individual thinking.

Having considered both perspectives,I am convinced that individuals should be given a sense of autonomy ,in as much as traditions maintain the social identity of a society it is crucial to allow young people behave individualy so that they may fit in the ever changing world

In conclusion, young people understanding and following a societie’s tradition ,which is passed over the generations is as important as allowing them to behave independently.