Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

In the contemporary epoch, the idea of whether to close the zoos due to their cruelty or be maintained for the purpose of wildlife protection remains a source of controversy among the public. While some people believe that drawbacks of zoos are noticeable, I would argue that its advantages are of greater significance

On the one hand, it seems to me that zoos could be unnecessary for the animals. One of the most compelling arguments for this is zoos can only hold small numbers of animals, therefore it can not protect the large majority of species from being hunted or habitat. Furthermore, in many zoos, animals suffer from inadequate food and healthcare. This can be explained as a variety of species, making it difficult for staff to take care of all of them. As a result, numerous animals have died from starvation and disease.

On the other hand, it is understand why a group of individuals support the idea that zoos are useful in some regards, as it can help to preserve endangered animals by keeping them safe from predators and other threats such as habitat destruction and the spread of urbanisation. Moreover by keeping animals in zoos, people may learn and understand more about them, thus it can help to raise awareness among the public in order to support the preservation of certain species.

In conclusion, although both views certainly have some validity, I would argue that zoos are more beneficial, as they help conserve endangered animals and educate the public. Instead of shutting them down, governments should focus on improving the conditions in zoos.