Some people use social media to keep in touch with other people and news events. Do you think advantages of this technology outweigh the disadvantages?

Social media is used by people to maintain connection with each other and learn about news. Although social media can be harmful for people, it as a resource of rapid information and as tool for communication with those, who are far away, outweighs the drawbacks.

On the one hand, social media can be dangerous since they influence on health. Social networks can gradually capture all people’s attention by scrolling posts, having contact with friends via only messengers. Compulsive use of social networking sites could harm brain and lead to psychological problems. For example, some doctors in Russia discovered that overuse of gadgets for social media reduces people’s ability to think and analyze and causes disorders, such as depression and anxiety.

However, I believe that there are more advantages to have an opportunity to know about news in the world and contact with people due to social media. Firstly, social networks are the best way to communicate with people, who live abroad. Social media provides a chance to call and text abroad without any extra payments, so that people make friends all over the world. For instance, Facebook is well known as a messenger, and it is used by people different nationalities and from various countries, what makes it easy to find some foreign friends. Secondly, news is learned immediately through social networking as people constantly sharing news with each other. That is why all news events are noticeable and spoken in social media, consequently, it is faster to read news in a phone than watch television, which can be at home. For example, there is a social network, named Vkontakte, in Russia, where people share all events in the world and discuss them.

In conclusion, although social networks have detrimental effect on health, they provide news quickly and help to build up relationships. Therefore, I think that there are more advantages than disadvantages to use social media for keeping in touch with people and news of the world.