Some people use social media to keep in touch with other people and news events. Do you think advantages of this technology outweigh the disadvantages?

In contemporary society, it has become increasingly common for many people to use social media as a way of contacting others and new events. From my point of view, the drawbacks of this trend cannot overshadow its benefits. In this essay, I will delve into both sides as follows.

To begin with, one of which the advantages of using this phenomenon is its convenience. Because with a touch of a button, people can have information easily that they want to know at any time and anywhere. For example, a person in Vietnam could know about the latest news about the elections of America through social platforms such as YouTube, TikTok, Twitter, etc… As a result, he could know these in details without going and enjoying these events. Moreover, keeping in touch with individuals gives them lots of benefits like face-to-face conversations. This is very come in handy especially when they are too far away from each other or in pandemic situations. For instance, during the COVID-19 pandemic, residents around the world were forced not to meet their friends or relatives in person. Therefore, by using Facebook or Zalo, they could have many short video calls which allowed them to contact with their beloved ones easily.

However, this trend also has some downsides such as online fraud, which is the most concerning problem. Due to the fact that individuals have preferred using online platforms, many online crimes have taken advantage of this. In addition, cyberbullying and stealing users’ private information are other issues. Many reports have shown that users now have been suffering from online attacks and the loss of their privacy due to hackers, stealing their information that storage on online cloud services.

To conclude, despite the online fraud, using the social networks has significant impacts on our lives not only the convenience of searching events but also the helpfulness when it comes to keep in touch among humans. Consequently, I believe its advantages do outweigh its disadvantages.