Some people use social media to keep in touch with other people and news events. Do you think advantages of this technology outweigh the disadvantages?

In contemporary society, the prevalence of social media helps individuals have access to modern technology. It is argued that social media is used to make contact with other people and news events daily. This essay will endeavor to explain why the demerits of this technology outweigh the merits aspects.

One of the paramount advantages of social media is that we can have connections with other people without caring about distance anywhere. It is undeniable that a social network is a useful tool which meets demand for communicating with anyone, anytime and saving a lot of different expenses. For instance, I am currently attending in a boarding high school so I have to stay at a dormitory which is extremely far from my hometown. Thanks to social media, especially Facebook, not only can I call the videos for my parents and relatives, but I can also enhance my English speaking skills by means of effective websites for English learners so that I would have more chances to communicate with foreigners. In general, the connectivity of it acquires new experiments and cultural diversity.

Furthermore, the social network also has a large number of drawbacks, particularly in terms of misleading private information. Nowadays, criminals have a tendency to make use of technological development to carry out their immoral desires so people are advised to alert in order to prevent our mental health and money from being badly affected. By way of illustration, adolescents are always sharing their current actions on social media platforms to show off their wealth, fame and even their personal information which is an opportunity for numerous individuals to commit a crime. This is the reason why the shortcomings carry more weight as well as more adverse effects on our society.

In conclusion, although keeping in touch with other people on social media platforms and news events may have several positive aspects, I am firmly convinced that they are outweighed by the more significant negative sides.