Some people use social media to keep in touch with other people and news events. Do you think advantages of this technology outweigh the disadvantages?

Social media has brought people closer together and informed people about events. I believe that the usage of social media technology has more positive sides compared to the negative sides that it might bring.

The first benefit of using social media is making communication easier. Some people who live far away from their families due to work and studies can communicate using online video conference platforms without paying a lot. Compared to going back and forth, especially for those who live on different continents, it is much cheaper and can be done several times a day. Furthermore, it is also advantageous for finding a job. Many job portals are now connected through social media, so people can easily see an update from an employer when they are finding new employees. Freelancers can also market their ability so they can get more projects.

On the other hand, social media has a harmful effect in increasing the number of social media addicts. Some students, especially those in their teens, occasionally have a problem with their studies because they spend too much time online rather than doing homework. In the long run, it will limit career opportunities if those students could not get good grades. Another issue that might arise is increasing the circulation of hoax news. Some older generations are not growing up with technological advancement. Whenever they see a broadcast on instant message applications, they would think it is real since they could not confirm whether it is true.

In conclusion, using social media is more beneficial due to making communication more accessible and helping people find jobs, which far outweighs any problems it might bring.