Some people use social media to keep in touch with other people and news events. Do you think advantages of this technology outweigh the disadvantages?

In contemporary society, the prevalence of social media usage has surged significantly. While some argue that the benefit of using social media is to help people connect with others and stay updated with the latest news, others conversely believe that the negative implications can not be ignored. From my perspective, I am of the opinion that the advantageous facets overshadow the drawbacks of this trend.

On the one hand, the increase of people using social media leads to several consequences. Firstly, media trend makes people seem becoming drift apart from each other since nowadays, most of time they spend surfing the internet, texting or entertaining on smart devices. It obviously means that instead of communicating in real life, they choose to make it indirectly through their phones, or their computers. Secondly, this tendency when ingrained in our society, people to easily drop into an illusion world. For example, they are always in contact with news that is extremely happy or tragic in other’s stories so some people only pray for a prosperous life while others are always scared about unlucky events coming to their lives. That causes serious trouble that they lose the ability to handle real situations with several obstacles.

On the other hand, the trend of using social media brings about numerous advantages. Using online platforms helps people connect to others more convenient and faster than meeting face-to-face. Especially if we are in the plague condition, social media will be an optimal choice for holding meetings or online classes, as well as assisting people in receiving the newest events. Additionally, social media is also a communal source of knowledge that people can gain a lot of necessary skills or information from others since they usually share their stories and their tips on their personal websites.

In conclusion, I believe that using social media is an effective way to assist people in many facets of life if it is used in a compatible time and purposes.