Some people use social media to keep in touch with other people and news events. Do you think advantages of this technology outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, social media has been widely used to connect people and new occasions. From my perspective, this trend has some merits, however, its demerit in terms of lacking of face to face interact should not be overlooked.

To begin with, social media is seen as an effective method for individuals to converse together regardless of the far distance. It is apparent that the development of the Internet provides citizens with more opportunities to enhance life quality. They are able to keep in touch with their relationships in any moment or get the newest news about the society. For instance, students studying universities far from home can have a chance to connect with parents and update local events as well as global ones.

On the other hand, this phenomenon might drive people to conflict as they lack of direct communication. Although it is easier for citizens to be in contact through social media, it is hard form them to express the true feeling. As a consequence, misunderstanding is likely to appear, leading to divergence and distance among people. Through some researches, a soaring number of children and parents separated owing to disagreement while confiding online, which would result in gap generation. Moreover, unstrictly controled news is available on the Internet as a threat for some imperssionable people, such as adolescents. This impacts negatively on their overall well-being.

In conclusion, using social media to contact has both benefits and obstacles. Thus, citizens should consider various elements and purposes in order to prevent conflict and unwanted effects.