Some people use social media to keep in touch with other people and news events. Do you think advantages of this technology outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, the widespread utilization of social media platforms has become a common practice for people to connect and stay informed about new occasions. From my perspective, this trend has some merits, however, its demerit in terms of lacking face-to-face interaction should not be overlooked.

To begin with, social media is seen as an effective method for individuals to converse together regardless of their geographical distance. It is apparent that the development of the Internet provides citizens with more opportunities to enhance life quality. They are able to keep in touch with their relationships at any moment or get the newest news about the society. For instance, students studying at universities far from home can have a chance to connect with parents and update local events as well as global ones.

On the other hand, this phenomenon might drive people to conflict due to the absence of direct communication. Although it is convenient for citizens to be in contact through social networking sites, it hinders their ability to express the true feelings. As a consequence, misunderstanding is likely to appear, leading to divergence and distance among people. Through some research, a soaring number of children and parents separated owing to disagreement while confiding online, which would result in a generation gap. Moreover, the unrestricted flow of information is available on the Internet as a threat for some impressionable people, such as adolescents. This impacts negatively on their overall well-being.

In conclusion, using social media to contact has both benefits and obstacles. Thus, citizens should consider various elements and purposes in order to prevent conflict and unwanted effects.