Some people want the government to spend more money for looking life on other planets, however others think it is waste of public money when there are so many problems on earth that the government should be solving. Discuss both sides and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some individuals believe that public funds should be spent on exploring life on other planets, while others consider it squandering as there are more pressing issues the money can be used to address. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument, and present my opinion.

On one hand, earth is becoming overpopulated, and in order to decongest it, the government can invest in looking for other places around the globe that are habitable. For instance, a recent survey in America revealed that her population has quadrupled in the last 10 years. This has resulted in the State sponsoring astronauts to travel to space to find other places where humans can survive, and Mars has been discovered to be a potentially viable alternative. Additionally, individuals residing in seismic countries can relocate to other areas outside of Earth, and by so doing, more lives are preserved.

On the other hand, there are more important issues that need solving, such as unemployment and poverty. Public funds can be used to build industries so that more people are provided the opportunity to earn a living, and afford the basic necessities of life. For example, about 40% of Nigerian youths are jobless, and it will be unreasonable to spend taxpayers money on exploring other planets instead of providing jobs. Furthermore, air pollution as a result of traffic congestion contributes significantly to climate change. Taxes can be spent on building and expanding roads so that they can accommodate more vehicles and other road users, thereby reducing pollution and its effects on the ecosystem.

In conclusion, I think using public expenditure to explore other planets that may be habitable is a waste of resources. Instead, the money can be used to tackle other important problems such as unemployment, poverty, and climate change.