Some say that music, art and drama are as important as other school subjects, especially at the primary level. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that music, art and drama should not be given any less importance than the traditional subjects, especially in elementary school. This essay agrees with this statement because this can help children’s emotional and intellectual development as well as enhance their creative skills.

Firstly, the inclusion of these subjects in the academic programme for primary level would make students more intelligent, not only academically but also emotionally. This is because activities such as composing verses, singing songs, drawing pictures and playing diverse characters are all different forms of expression. Therefore, these students would have a better understanding of their feelings and how one can express them. For instance, several surveys have shown that children who have taken part in drama plays from a young age are far more empathetic and outspoken about their intrinsic feelings and thoughts.

Another reason why music, art and drama should be part of elementary education is to bring out the creativity in young students. Often students live under the pressure of constantly learning and memorising grammar rules, algebra, history of ancestors…all of which leads to a very toxic and stressful idea of what education should be. Adding subjects like music, art and drama can alleviate this pressure and help them discover their creative side. For example, it is quite common for most students to show immense interest and joy in art because it helps them relax and bring their ideas to life with vibrant and bright colours on a piece of paper.

In conclusion, primary schools must consider adding music, art and drama into the curricular programme, as they can prove to be a very effective method in making children smarter, more expressive and creative.