Some schools no longer teach children handwriting skills. Do you think this is a positive or negative trend?

It is often argued that some educational institutions have removed handwriting instruction from their curriculum. While this trend offers several benefits, it may also lead to certain drawbacks that deserve attention.

The most important aspect in this topic is time-saving. Computers and smartphones are becoming famous among children, some of which are completely functional for improving their skills, because these applications have automatic correction keyboards. For instance, in Asian countries such as China, Indonesia, and Korea a substantial number of students study with laptops since they can save their time for other subjects or daily routines. Following that, some student’s writing is illegible despite many exercises which can be a significant challenge for teachers to figure out the points. Consequently, the environment, having been used by the majority of people for creating pencils and papers, will be decreased.

On the other hand, there are several factors leading to negative aspects of this topic. Firstly, if handwriting subjects are eliminated among students, it would reduce brain development. Studies suggest that writing by hand helps with memory, creativity, and cognitive development more than typing does; however, usage of computers instead of handwriting has several benefits. Secondly, handwriting is a part of our history and culture, such as reading old letters, documents, and historical books. Therefore, future generations would not be able to write or read cursive or handwritten tests, they might lose connection with the past.

In conclusion, although removing handwriting instruction can offer benefits such as saving time, improving digital skills, and protecting the environment, it also poses risks related to cognitive development and cultural loss. In my opinion, a balanced approach that includes both handwriting and digital literacy would be the most beneficial for students.