Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem?

Recent reports indicate that some species of animals are on the verge of extinction, and many others are rapidly approaching the similar state. There are various reasons that are leading to this mass extinction among the animals and human in the near future.

Most of the causes are derived from human’s activities. After the population boom, the demands for housing increase and the energy needed to power our civilizations skyrocketed in one century. This leads to the large scale deforestation to make room for the growing population and the extraction of fossil fuel buried in the Earth’s crust. Without strict regulation our needs are driving other organisms from their natural habitats. Marine lives are disturbed by offshore oil rigs constantly shocking the sea floor. Animals with low adaptability will died out quickly in unfamiliar environment. Human’s industrialization, chemical waste, littering are destroying the natural world’s balance. More and more catastrophic weather phenomenon such as the rise in rainfall’s acidity, global warming are creating a hazardous environment that can be extremely dangerous to even the most resilient life forms.

To effectively combat this problem, we have to control our population growth rate and also move away from using fossil fuel as our main source of energy, instead we should utilize the renewable energy the sun radiation and kinetic energy provided by the river and wind movements. Government should enforce strict regulation on chemical waste disposal and start funding environmental campaigns. Endangered species will need protection and aids in reproduction. Along side preventing the direct causes, we should also work on the restoration of previously destroyed habitats.

In conclusion, human’s actions deeply impact the Earth’s ecology and other living organism’s population. Without proper solution we will also critically harm our survivability in the future.