Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem?

Many species of natural life are now facing the fate of extinction due to poaching and a reduction in habitats. Still, we may change their destinies through proper education and conservation efforts.

There are two main reasons for their increased risk of extinction. First and foremost, poachers hunt endangered animals for profit. Many people mistakenly believe that organs of certain rare species, like shark fins and elephant tusks, are healthy. Seeing the demand, hunters kill these creatures, retrieve the desired parts, and then sell them to dealers for money. Because of this, the number of elephants plunged by over 90% in the last century. Second, habitats of endangered animals have shrunk in size rapidly. Thanks to urbanization, desertification, and deforestation, homes originally belonging to creatures of nature have gradually disappeared. Thus, these animals resort to migrating to another place for survival. Yet, they often struggle to live in the new conditions, leading to their death. For instance, pandas have been endangered for the past few decades since only 200 pandas existed in the 1990s.

Nevertheless, there is hope for these species if we implement two key solutions. On one hand, the government can educate the public about the crucial importance of biodiversity and the dangers that endangered animals face, ultimately helping people recognize that poaching is immoral. Additionally, we need to debunk the myth that rare animal organs have nutritional value, thereby reducing demand and discouraging illegal hunting. On the other hand, it is essential to conserve and restore the habitats of threatened animals to ensure their safety and survival. Thanks to these efforts, the number of pandas has increased tenfold over the past 20 years.

In conclusion, some animals are prone to complete disappearance due to illegal hunting and habitat loss. In light of this, it is imperative to educate everyone and put in more conservation efforts.