Some students choose to work or travel after leaving school and before going to university. Many people, however, say that working experience is more useful in adult life than travel. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

There is a controversy around whether young people should take a gap year for working or traveling before attending university. Many believe that it is more effective for students to gain experience from working than traveling. From my perspective, I partly agree with the opinion that students should prefer working than traveling. It will be explained in this essay.

Students can take various advantages from working experience. First and foremost, the knowledge about their department and major that the students learn in the university will be clearly expressed in their contemporary jobs. As a result, they can obtain chances to take these jobs into consideration of whether they will register it as their major in the universities. For example, students of the English department can apply into some of the English centers in Hanoi to experience the teaching progress and schedule. The students can easily change their direction or career in case the work is unsuitable. Secondly, the experience that is provided from working at an early age can assist students to get better opportunities after they graduate. In a competitive job environment, the experienced people will have more chances to get hired or promote their position.

On the other hand, traveling also provides students with some benefits. First of all, students can relax after taking the transition examination in high school. After a long preparation and testing period, traveling will meet the needs of students to relieve stress and score problems. In addition, the youth can spend more time with their family during the trailing trips to strengthen their bond together. Moreover, while traveling to different places, students can change their decision about their living. Because the cities that they are living in are no longer a suitable place for them. For example, those who grow up in crowded and hectic cities such as Hanoi may want to move to the countryside to stay away from urban areas. Hence, choosing trailing is a considerable and suitable option for students after graduating from high school.

In conclusion, students can go on some trips or take a job when they take a gap year between high school and university. Both traveling and working will give various experiences and benefits to students.