Some suggest that young people should take a job for a few years between school and university. Discuss what the advantages and disadvantages might be for people who do this.

In recent years, it is popular that students are taking a gap year after graduation. It is beneficial for some and considered a waste of time for others. This essay will discuss both sides in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, taking a job a year before university has advantageous effects on many aspects. For example, teenagers can try numerous careers in different fields. This will help them to build their future more easily and gain many qualifications. In addition, working for one or two years will help youngsters to communicate with different employers and managers. This can improve communication skills and personality. Moreover, some individuals may choose to travel out of the country. This option will teach them different cultures and deal with different people from other nationalities.

On the other hand, many teenagers think that work after high school is a waste of time. It is better to finish studying immediately then start the job after college graduation. Also, a large number of families prefer early marriage especially for females. Their view is that having a family is more important than having a job after school. Furthermore, taking a rest from study leads to loss of motivation for some individuals. When their colleagues graduate

from a college they may lose the study life. Lastly, others prefer to study Masters and PhD in a specific field at a young age.

To conclude, working before finishing university has many pros and cons. It mostly depends on a person’s situation and personality. However, it is very important to study and discuss both aspects before making the final decision.