Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in the countryside. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, members of the young generation are moving from rural to urban areas, while their older counterparts are staying in the countryside. This essay will discuss emerging problems and possible solutions for them.

One of the main problems associated with losing a young workforce is its negative impact on economic growth and population. Many individuals after becoming 18 years old leave their hometown to find better education and higher salaries. This might cause a shortage of employees and a decrease in productivity. As the adults become older and less physically active, the district might become abandoned due to a lack of resources and workforce. Consequently, the population of the area might also face a significant decline because the number of people leaving the town is gradually increasing with every emigration. Moreover, the elderly who stay in a village in the future might not be able to sustainably maintain the population level.

Several measures can be taken to address these issues. Firstly, the government should establish modern universities and schools to provide sufficient education as good as in capital cities. Furthermore, the government construction of factories and offices might attract the younger generation to continue their growth in their hometown which will positively affect the future economic development and population size. In addition, the rural areas might subsidise the migrant workers by creating new job opportunities and housing facilities. Belarus, for example, is funding the relocation of Uzbek citizens to some farmlands to address population shortages and support agricultural production.

In conclusion, a reduction of young people in villages can have a detrimental impact on population and economic development. However, these challenges might be mitigated by expanding employment opportunities and educational amenities.