Some young people look forward to a year of travelling, a 'gap year', before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time.

It is sometimes argued that most young generation take a gap year before starting university or work, while some people suggest that it offers invaluable experiences and broadens one’s horizons, others consider it an unnecessary expense and waste of time. This essay will analyze both perspectives before representing my own view.

On the one hand, a gap year provides doors to advancement. Firstly, by traveling, most people paves the way for self-development. Most individuals get to experience a wide variety of cultures, discover new places that help them to be well-rounded. For example, my friend took a gap year many years later,however nowadays he can foster adaptability and can make informed decisions about career. Secondly, globetrotting plays a vital role for young participants who are still finding themselves. Furthermore, young people can get enriching experience and enhance employability. Finally, in my view, traveling during a gap year assists to develop skills such as communication, problem-solving, and significant personal growth.

On the other hand, in my opinion, it would be a wrong to waste valuable time for unproductive things that not help for education. Therefore, by traveling, young people squander their savings, however young individuals can invest them with their savings that facilitates more opportunities leads to education. By contrast, traveling disrupts academic momentum and individuals will lose focus. Moreover, take a gap year inaccessible for low-income students because wage during the gap year can lead to financial burden.

To sum up, the decision depends on students, while a gap year can be invaluable opportunity for personal growth, it can also be expensive and potentially disruptive if not carefully planned.