Space exploration is a waste of money. Governments should focus more on addressing public problems instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely argued that exploration programmes are not worth spending money and are thought to be time consuming, therefore the investments should be used to facilitate the lives of individuals.I completely agree with this idea as they are a waste of money and the funds ought to be allocated to commoners’ lifestyles.

There are several reasons why space programmes should be abandoned. Firstly, it is extremely expensive to train scientists and other personnel that are involved in space missions, and it necessitates facilities and equipment which come at a huge cost to the government. Secondly, these programmes do not benefit normal people in our everyday lives – they are simply used as a political power by governments. Finally, certain space explorations fail completely, and a minuscule technological error can cost astronauts their lives. An evident example can be The Challenger Space Shuttle, a disaster which illustrates space travelling is exceedingly risky. It can be therefore argued that allocations should be directed to foster the lives on the earth.

I believe the money from space programmes should go to crucial social issues such as poverty, obesity and starvation instead. It is clear that travels to space entail ages to achieve breakthroughs, while enhancing healthcare, education and depleting the poverty numbers improves quality of lives immediately. Furthermore, it is much affordable to launch remedies which have a positive impact on every member of society. Consequently, the levels of destitution are much likely to fall at the expense of such catastrophic missions. For instance, Nasa, – the corporation which spends billions on its explorations – if the American government had reallocated the funds and taxes on healthcare, there would not have been an obesity epidemic which has circulated around the USA nowadays.

In conclusion, my view is that governments should spend money on the ongoing issues on the earth and it is inappropriate to waste resources on projects that do not improve our daily lives.