Studies show that crime rates are lower among those with educational degrees. Therefore, the best way to reduce the crime rate is to educate criminals while they are still in prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely argued that individuals with higher educational degrees are less offenders compared to those without any educational history. While I agree that education should be considered as a key determiner to minimize the crime rates, other stimulators should not be refused. In the following essay, I will state my reasons.

On the one hand, having much free time and leisure time without any utmost aims can be turned into committing the crime in the long run. In other words, those who spend their precious time on studying and striving to make a degree seem to be extremely occupied with their studies. Therefore, it is a beneficial idea to educate people who hold in captivity and they would apply their education to find a job after releasing back to the community.

However, crime rates can be influenced dramatically by other fundamental factors such as poor family background, poverty and striking up unhealthy friendships, which are not only diminishing the crime rates but also worsening them. What I mean by this is that individuals from badly-off families and who are rubbing shoulders with the offenders can become more engaged to committing a broad range of crimes.

All things considered, although facilitating criminals with education while they are in prison could be considered as a crucial factor to minimize crime rates, providing the rehabilitation centers and counsellors could be advantageous, as well. Personally, I believe that a wide range of services apart from education should be employed in the prison to make prisoners law abiding citizens and reduce the ratio of crime.