Task 2: People continue to commit crimes even after being punished for it. Why do you think this happens? How can crime be stopped?

It is apparent that some individuals still persist on their criminal paths despite having served their sentences already. This state of affairs can be attributed to several factors, and this essay will suggest a few viable methods to remedy the situation.

There are two main contributors to the phenomenon of ex-criminals still committing unlawful acts after being punished. Chief of these is their lack of opportunities for decent occupations after their serving time, which is a direct result of their criminal backgrounds. These negative records cause employers to be more reluctant when they are reviewing these individuals’ resumes, since it is more risky to hire ex-criminals considering the fear of them causing troubles, making it more challenging for these people to look for well-paid jobs. Added to this is the fact that some active criminal groups may try to persuade these ex-inmates into working for them again by either violent or monetary means. As a result, many desperate people may stray into their old paths again.

The problem of punished criminals still engaging in unlawful activities can be addressed in a number of ways. A prominent remedy is the implementation of programs that emphasize on rehabilitation of the inmates rather than punishing them for their guilt. With the introduction of workshops and educational courses into these programs, criminals will have more chances to acquire new skills that may prove useful later on when they are looking for occupations. Another feasible method is applying tax cuts to companies hiring ex-criminals, thereby encouraging more workplaces to include these individuals into their environment because of the financial relief that they receive. A successful nation in implementing this model is Sweden, where inmates receive comfortable treatment and quality education instead of harsh labor or strict punishment. As a result, the majority of their criminals usually find better lifestyles after they are released, proving the feasibility of this approach.

In conclusion, the causes of ex-criminals violating the laws are occupation disadvantages and the criminal groups seducing their old members. However, it is possible to tackle this issue by implementing policies that provide more opportunities for these people, avoiding them repeating their mistakes.People continue to commit crimes even after being punished for it. Why do you think this happens? How can crime be stopped