Task 2: Some people believe teenagers should focus on all subjects equally, whereas others think that they should concentrate only on subjects they find interesting. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether students should pay an equal amount of attention to all subjects in the curriculum or only focus on the subjects of their interest. Although a holistic approach to education brings certain benefits, I firmly believe that specialized training confers more significant advantages on both individuals and society.

Granted, a comprehensive curriculum can shape students into well-rounded individuals. When students are encouraged to allocate an equal amount of time to all subjects, they can accumulate knowledge about all aspects of life. An implication for this is that students who follow this approach can be ready for any challenges in life, as they are equipped with a vast range of knowledge from scientific theories to social disciplines. However, those students can be overwhelmed with a huge amount of workload, which can pose detrimental impacts on both their physical and mental health. These can be even more severe if students are not academically inclined to learn the whole selection of subjects.

On the other hand, I maintain that students and societies can gain incomparable benefits if a specialized curriculum is implemented on a large scale. Regarding the positive influences on students, when they are able to fully concentrate on their favourite subject, they can maintain their learning interest, which equals higher efficiency. Another noticeable merit is that students following specialized training can acquire in-depth knowledge about the major, and thus they are more likely to develop expertise in the field and become consummate professionals when entering workforce. Regarding the reason why specialized education can greatly benefit societies, a labour force full of experts can bring about innovations and increased productivity at work. A prime example is the education system in Germany and France where specialized education is the norm. They have highly competent workforce, contributing to their position as economic superpowers in the world.