TASK 2: Some people think history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying the past history can help us better understand the present. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

There is a growing debate about the meaning of history. Some say that knowledge of the past can be helpful to understand the modern world due to past mistakes, whereas others consider that history has insignificant meaning for us due to historical inaccuracy. Personally, knowledge of our ancestors is essential, and humanity should use it to develop.

Humanity should learn from its own mistakes from the past. History provides us with recorded cases of humanity’s crucial miscalculations. Blunder of politicians led to the most tragic event of the 20th century, the bloody WW2. Nowadays, modern politicians have learned from the mistakes of the past and are actively trying to prevent possible disputes. For example, there is a growing conflict between Israel and Palestine. In order to avoid a new war beginning, countries all over the world are trying to regulate the situation.

However, individuals argue about the truth of history due to unconfirmed facts and a lack of evidence. History does not guarantee accuracy and may be reshaped to someone’s preferences. For instance, the USA’s government used to hide the fact of the native population’s genocide. For many years, they used a version of a peaceful agreement where native Indians left their own land voluntarily, despite the fact that Americans had eradicated the local population for decades.

In conclusion, history may either help humanity to develop and live in peace, or it may hide the truth and be rewritten from the winner’s view.