Task 2: Some people think that the government should provide free public libraries in every town, while others think that this is a waste of money because people can access information on the internet. Consider both viewpoints and provide your own opinion.

There is an opinion that libraries should be funded by government, at the same time others argue that it will lead to a financial loss since the needed information can be searched online. This essay will investigate further and observe both views with an explained opinion.

Technologies received multiple outstanding innovations and overall growth throughout the last few decades which led to creation of internet among with dozens of websites and programs which went so widespread that social media is now the most popular format of getting news and any information for free. Books, journals and magazines of any sort can also be viewed through media, so the need for traditional libraries seem to falter due to the fact the fact that access to the type of information that was noticeable only in libraries for a price can now be found in gadgets of daily life usage as cellphones, computers or simple audio tapes with the outweighing benefit of it being for free. It leads to the point where libraries are of no value anymore due to advantages obtainable from internet.

However, it is the matter of data proven material which internet cannot grant for sure due to the diversity it has from other sources of the same material. Books in libraries went through detailed analysis and inspections in order to be there, so they are always certified and the same as original while information on internet can be uploaded by anyone even without a requirement for capacity, truthfulness and amendments. For example, Wikipedia, probably the most famous website which’s purpose is to contain different sort of information for others to view and learn, has the function of letting other people change the content of materials which were not proven by official experts, so it often concludes to the point that people influenced by a cognitive bias of the Dunning-Kruger effect are just writing nonsense, subsequently spreading disinformation and fraud. Another reason why conservative libraries are more of importance is related to human psychology. Immersivity and real contact with the material is scientifically proven to have an impact on an individual’s mind by making him more interested and involved to the source of information accessible to him. It works not only by the matter of improved atmosphere which a person feels by holding a book, but also due to him spending his money and showing attention which subconsciously persuades him to show better curiosity, all showing that funding actual libraries is not just beneficial but necessary for people and future generations.

In conclusion, despite the fact that most of the data accessible in libraries with a cost can be found and viewed through internet for free, traditional way of reading is more of significance due to the truthfulness of materials and immersive feeling which reader gets.