Task 2: Some people think that the government should provide free public libraries in every town, while others think that this is a waste of money because people can access information on the internet. Consider both viewpoints and provide your own opinion.

Knowledge predominantly has played a vital role in every individual’s life. Historically, libraries were the only source which had every information under one roof. Therefore, some people assert that government should give free access to this utility in every city, however others believe it is unnecessary blockage of the funds as due to advancement of technology, every update is available free of cost. Both the arguments have valid points which will be discussed along with my point of view, supported by relevant examples in the following essay.

On one hand, populace supporting presence of library sponsored by officials believe that in today’s world there are many who want to pursue education but cannot afford it due to high cost and no approach towards gadgets. As a result, building information centres at approachable points will fulfil their rights towards education. To exemplify, in Delhi, capital of India literacy rate significantly increased by 30 % after state set up such institues with free entry. Hence, such small initiatives act as a cornerstone for a county’s development indirectly.

Conversely, other strata is in a view that investing on library not only leads to wastage of money but also put negative use of land. They propagate that in contemporary era many telecommunication companies provide data at subsidised rate which ultimately removes hindrance towards knowledge and education. Therefore, setting such setups will lead to less productive use of government revenue. To illustrate, in United Kingdom, majorly students carry their laptop as all the education is conducted through online medium and thereby reducing the need for libraries. Resultantly, officials are using such finances for development of nation which otherwise would have not been possible.

I for one believe that, online resources reduce the need to travel to seek knowledge and is also cost effective, whereas libraries require large investment and land which is not viable for most of the developing countries.

To recapitulate, libraries undoubtedly had been prominent in ancient times but with changing time medium of knowledge changes and nowadays, everything is available free of cost online. So, the best way is to provide free internet connection to all the students so that every child can read with convinience without any barriers of place.