Task 2: Some people think that the government should provide free public libraries in every town, while others think that this is a waste of money because people can access information on the internet. Consider both viewpoints and provide your own opinion.

The debate about government provision of free public libraries and whether or not it is worth the funds has been a popular topic of discussion among civilians. While the cost of construction, among other expenses necessary for an accessible library, is not cheap, the benefits outweigh it greatly.

The matter of cost is a source of valid concern: the construction process could be tedious, taking up a lot of effort and money, as well as the process of designing and furnishing. In addition, the cost of books and employing staff adds up to a significant amount. In this day and age, where everything is merely one click away, it might seem unlikely that it is an absolute necessity.

A library does not only provide a free source of reading materials; it is also a beneficial community space for people of all ages and for multiple purposes, as well as for little to no cost. Students can use the library as a study place when their own space does not meet their needs, children can be trusted to stay within the establishment safely, and bigger libraries even provide meeting rooms up for bookings for free or at a low cost. Creating public spaces for people has proven to be effective in lowering crime rates in each area among various studies, increasing safety in communities and lowering the dangers of misdemeanors.

Furthermore, books offer a reliable source of information as they are subject to a rigorous editorial process and oftentimes are peer-reviewed, as compared to information websites on the internet. Books tend to be better researched with more depth to offer, as well as the fact that what is written cannot be changed later on, unlike online information sites such as Wikipedia. Additionally, internet access is not accessible for everyone. There are people who cannot afford a technological device to research on, and there is no reason why they should be uninformed, hence the usage of a public library.

In conclusion, a library could be of use for a variety of reasons: the search for accurate information, community spaces for all age groups, among many more. Although the matter of funds presents itself, I believe it is well worth it to spend a great amount on something with so much in return.