Technology has changed the way that people interact with each other. In what ways has technology changed the types of relationships that people make? Has this been a positive or negative development?

Recent technology advancements have revolutionized how people get along with each other. While the types of relationships that people make have been changed due to these advancements, I believe that technology is a troublesome development.

With the help of technology, people make more enduring relationships. Through text messages, social media, and online dating apps, it has become easier for people to make up new partners online. By just one click of a button, anyone can connect with strangers or people with mutual friends. For instance, Facebook has set up its platform to go over every user’s friend list to announce and suggest people to connect with ones they might know. Consistent internet connection allows relatives and friends to get in touch with each other through chats and video calls despite the geographic barrier, strengthening in the established bond between people.

However, technology also causes people to treat their relationships carelessly. Because making friends and partners has become easier, users consider their online relationships to be unserious, giving them no dedication. Online dating apps, for example, have recorded that users (mostly youngsters) are less than 50% to turn up for the second date, since people can always search for new matches rather than prioritizing in developing consistent ones. Over time, this set up a false perception about making up new relationships among online users to be fast and bondless.

To conclude, technology allows people to have enduring relationships through communication services and friend suggestions. Nevertheless, I am convinced that since the easier building a relationship becomes, the less effort people spend on them, this is a negative advancement.