Thanks to low-cost airlines, many people can travel abroad. What advantages and disadvantages do tourists bring to the countries they visit?

Tourism industry has been raising at an alarming rate. Nowadays, because of the budget airlines many people can travel to foreign countries. Eventhough tourism is good for a countries economy, it has certain negative sides too. The both will be explicated in the following paragraphs.

To embark on, Foreign visitors are bringing lot of advantages to a nation

such as it create foreign currency. To further strengthen this statement when ever a tourist visit a foreign country the money which the tourist bring is his or her domestic currency and which will be exchanged with the local money of visiting nation. Therefore the country can gain foreign currency. Furthermore, Through tourism promotes the local product. To put more light on it, The local product get more popular and even new markets through tourism. This is not only good for the product but also for the manufactures Hence they can maximise the profit. To cite an example, Arumula kannadi a local product in Kerala now exported to Europe as a result of tourism activity.

Inspite of all this merits tourism has many drawbacks such as it destroy the local culture. To elaborate it further, the residents especially youth tryes to imitate the culture of a foreiger whom they saw later on start avoiding own culture. This can have determintial effect on the local culture. Moreover, More number of tourist are always threat to environment. As many people are visiting a place the facilities should be provided for that may be the trees may be cut down. In addition to that the more the the waste will be. Either the authorities or the residents should be taken care of this. To exemplify, the plastic waste in the Amazon waste is more than 100 trillion kg which the tourists discarded.

To recapitulate, tourism bring lot of merits to a nation such as more forex as well as international market for local products. Despite this all it has some down side as Demolishing local culture and destroying environment.