The advantages of the spread of English as a global language will continue to outweigh its disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the last year, we can see a growth for what concern the diffusion of English as second language in every country of the world,

Despite there is a popular belief that consider this as a flattening of traditions and cultures of the Earth population, the advantages overwhelm the disadvantages.

This essay will try to describe the causes of this sentences.

In particular, the main advantages of the use of English as a global language are the following: the facility to dialogue with foreign people, the growth of our mental elasticity which is guaranteed by the study of a second language and the benefits for tourism.

Firstly, it’s needed a common language between two people who came from different countries to dialogue. Making the exception of the countries who has been created from British, French and Spanish Empire, where people respectively talk the language of the conqueror Nation, in every point of the Earth, everyone uses their native words. For istance, if English didn’t spread as the most common second language, Japanese could have some problems to speak with Italian. This is the reason because the number of people who actually talk English is about the 80% of world population.

Secondly, studying English is very useful to improve our mental capacity. In particular, using 2 languages at the same time will bring some parts of our brain used for the tongue coordination and for the logic to become bigger, making us more intelligent and faster to think.

This is very important during the childhood period, when children brains are more motivated to change shapes.

Thirdly, this will spread the tourism in every country of the world.

Imagine if you want to organise a trip in Sfarkland Island, the northest colonised region of the world, in Norway, but, during the preparation, a thought will hit you: you are scared from the possibility that nobody can understand what are you saying one time there. Even if there is the sign language, this disencourage people from going in holiday in very far countries and this will decrease the economic incomes of region like these.

To sum up, i agree that English have to become the second language of every people of the world because it’s very useful to communicate, it keeps our brains in health and it encourages tourism in many countries