The advantages of the spread of English as a global language will continue to outweigh its disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Thanks to cultural diversity, every single part of our communication has been altered significantly, and language is no exception. Nowadays, English has become more common in the world. This plays a very crucial role in the way individuals communicate with each other. In my view, speaking English fluently can increase self-confidence.

On the one hand, it can pose a threat to local cultures and traditions. In the technological era, tens of millions of teenagers are enthusiastic about Western music, lifestyles, and movies because they have easy accessibility to all sources of information through the internet. Moreover, they lose their tendency toward choosing old customs, and they are more likely to look at popular celebrities as role models for their clothing style.

On the other hand, the spread of English involves many positive effects on societies. Firstly, people can travel all around the world and get familiar with different cultures, customs, and traditions at a lower cost. Gone are the days when they spent a vast amount of money on travelling by tours with the aim of leading a better journey experience. Nowadays, having this knowledge, individuals can interact with a number of citizens all around the world. Moreover, it provides this opportunity to attend a top-rated university to benefit from extensive research facilities.

Amazing though living abroad is, it has its own difficulties. For example, one of my best friends immigrated to Germany in order to study there, and after one year he cannot speak Dutch at all. So, studying in the university where students and instructors speak English helped him to follow his dreams.

In conclusion, although using one language may be counterproductive in some aspects, it has become an essential tool for global communication and personal development. Therefore, it is important to make a balance between learning English and preserving local identities.