The best method for a government to fix the traffic congestion is by having free public transit all day long, seven days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the last few decades, the majority of people have been debating whether issues with traffic jams need be solved by the government’ providing free and non-stop transport or no. From my perspective, despite the fact that this is not effective solution and can lead to chaos in public transport, the government should improve public transport and regulate infrastructure.

Day by day the road problems are increasing and cause discomfort for many drivers. If the government provides free public transport, it would not deal with the quantity of cars. Making free transport usage might lead to more congestion in buses and subways which could be affected unpleasant for passengers and they would use their own cars again.To deal with this problem, the authority should spend more money to develop the quality of transport and security there. A clear illustration is Tokyo. This is the government that improve their subway system and reduce the time between trains. It leads to minimize congestion on roads due to people started to choose underground trains.

From the other perspectives, if the government offered transport without charge it will be harmful effect for public finances. All fuels, salaries for drivers and other expenditure would need to spend from its budget which would lead to increased the taxes from citizens. Instead of that, the authorities could give some discounts for students and retired people which would be better for them. It can be seen in UK. It is a country where students have student card and they can use it among semester and elderly people have as a “freedom card” which allows them to use transport at a lower rate.

In conclusion, although, idea with free and all-day working transport can be valuable suggestions, its harmful influence on government’ budget. To deal with traffic jams problems would be better to improve public transport and include discounts for passengers.