The best way to make road transport safe is to make vehicle drivers take a driving test each year. to what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

It is often believed that the most effective way to improve the safety of road transport is to implement annual driving exams for drivers. In my opinion, I disagree with this perspective, as such an approach is impractical and less efficient compared to other measures.

First of all, organizing a driving test each year causes unnecessary stress among drivers, as well as increasing the administrative burden on authorities. Testing millions of individuals would also be significantly time-consuming and costly, due to the minimal impacts that it will have on experienced drivers as they are already accustomed to the traffic rules, leading to them finding the exam frustrating and redundant. For example, long-term drivers with years of experience, as well as a clean record, will be of the impression that little to no benefits will be gained from partaking in the yearly driving test, which could lead to dissatisfaction among compliant motorists.

Additionally, there are better ways of ensuring road transport safety, such as allocating resources on the development of traffic infrastructure and passing stricter traffic laws. Well-designed roads along with better visibility for traffic lights and signs would contribute to reducing the rate of accidents from occuring, as well as improve the driving experience for individuals. Furthermore, strict regulations from authorities and enforcement through cameras and traffic patrols can target reckless drivers that are a part of the problem without affecting law-abiding individuals on the road. For example, countries like the UK have reported a decline in traffic accidents by implementing cameras and enforcing harsh penalties of traffic offenders, thereby demonstrating the effectiveness of the aforementioned measures.

In conclusion, I disagree with the assumption that making vehicle drivers take a driving test each year is the most efficient way to increase road transport safety, as this approach is not beneficial and requires unnecessary efforts from organizers. Instead, investing in road infrastructure and implementing policies that deliver severe punishments towards reckless drivers are more effective solutions to ensuring traffic safety.