The burning of oil for transport especially in private cars is wasteful and environmentally irresponsible. Taxation on petrol and diesel fuel should be increased to very high level to discourage the use of private cars. To what extent would you support or reject this idea

Using oil for transportation, particularly in private cars, is wasteful and harmful to the environment. Increasing the taxes on petrol and diesel fuel, to the maximum level, will prevent people to buy private cars. I strongly disagree with this point of view because people cannot go to everywhere with public transport and there is a increasingly number on buying electric cars.

To begin with, there are places that people cannot go without a private car, such as far from city center, exclusive meetings. Public transports’ path is limited and sometimes people should walk a lot, after getting off from it, to reach the place that they want but in private cars, people can go unlimited place. As a result, people will late to their job and some companies will bankrupt, if government make taxes expensive for fuels and do not let people to buy private cars.

In addition, people started to produce electric cars which do not waste fuel and have no effect to the environment. While people started buying electric cars, there is no purpose to tax people for using petrol and diesel. Cars with electric engine are only made to save the nature and stop using fuels for transport. Consequently, increasing the taxes percentage will end to the public transport because people will stop using them as they have another type of car.

In conclusion, I completely disagree with idea that taxation on petrol and diesel should be raised to a substantial degree, because of lack of public transports’ path and availability of electric cars.