The burning of oil for transport especially in private cars is wasteful and environmentally irresponsible. Taxation on petrol and diesel fuel should be increased to very high level to discourage the use of private cars. To what extent would you support or reject this idea

Oil consumption for vehicles is indeed becoming increasingly common for citizens in urban areas. Some hold the idea that we must raise oil prices to lessen the number of cars. I admit that this idea is one of the best ways to do so, but still, I believe there are other ways that are equally effective.

To begin with, the idea of increasing the price of oil to reduce the number of vehicles on the road might be seen as the only viable solution by some people. Supporters of this idea argue that many people would choose not to drive if fuel costs were higher. This is because the current price of petrol is already a significant expense for many, and any further increase would likely discourage unnecessary use of personal vehicles.

In my view, however, there are multiple ways to reduce the number of private cars by both improving public transport and making higher prices for parking and fines. On the public transport front, indeed, most people are disgusted by the bus or metro. This is due to two main reasons: first, they do not want to look like they are in poverty, and second, these vehicles are really dirty. If everything is clear with the first reason, we can do something with the second one, like changing the interior and exterior of the coach, bus, or metro. When it comes to increasing the fees for parking and fines, it is true that no one wants to pay even for the current ones, but if we raised the price, nobody would drive a car; they would use public transport instead.

In conclusion, I acknowledge all the benefits of increasing the price of oil to reduce the number of vehicles on the road. But still, I think there are other ways that can be seen as equally effective.