The consumption of the world's resources (oil, water, etc.) is increasing at a dangerous rate. What are the causes and solutions?

Over the past decades, the world has witnessed an alarming increase in the consumption of natural resources such as coal, oil, and water. Various forces drive this trend, and several solutions should be adopted to address the thorny issues that have arisen.

The alarming growth in the expenditure of natural resources in the world comes from several reasons. The main reason is population explosion in the world in recent decades, leading to increased demand for water and oil, especially in developing countries. In addition, industrial development also makes a rising of resource consumption. This is because fossil fuel play a significant role in worldwide industries. Another cause is that alternative source of energy like wind and solar power have not yet developed strongly. Taking renewable energy sources as an example, governments or businesses have to invest a huge amount of money to exploit and use them.

Since the dangerous rate of rising resource expenses can be detrimental, should be tackled by a variety of solutions. The first efficacious solution is that the government ought to control natural resource consumption in industry, with strict regulations and taxation on the consumption of resources. The second remedy is that multinational cooperation in the protection and use of natural resources should be promoted. Last but not least, the authorities should invest more on the research program for alternate sources of energy.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons for this trend, however, steps need to be taken to tackle this issue.