The Government should impose a fee on drivers who use their vehicles during rush hour to help cut down on air pollution from exhaust fumes.

It is a common belief that drivers should not be charged for using their vehicles during rush hour, even though it contributes to air pollution. However, I firmly believe that imposing a fee on drives do a lot of good since it help to reduce traffic and make the environment cleaner.

To begin with, it is important to implement a rush hour fee on drivers since it not only lead to reduce traffic congestion but also diminish some of the pollutant in the atmosphere. As we know, being stucked in traffic can emit large amount of fossil fuels to the environment. Charging people would make them less likely to drive to work. Instead, they would opt to use alternative means of transportation. For example, in London, the government introduced a congestion fee several years ago. As a result, many people started to carpool, walk or use public transportation rather than drive to work. Fewer cars on the road eased traffic jams and the level of air pollution also significantly decreasesd.

On top of that, the revenue of those charges can be used to fund environmentally friendly project. Government agencies would be able to utilize this tax to make cities greener. In stockholm, for instance, the city authority has been able to plant flowers and trees alongside roads with the funds from a rush hour regulation. This make cities more beautiful and improve dramatically the air quality overall. If effect, tax from a rush hour fee can do much to alleviate the polluted air.

To sum up, a small fee from rush hour would lighten traffic and help cities clener and fresher. For those reasons, charging drivers would be beneficial to the environment also societies.